Need help buying a controller for PC

Hielke

Dear all,

I am looking to buy a controller for my PC. What are the things I need to look for? Which once are best compatible and user-friendly? I'd love to hear personal experiences from you guys. I've never used a controller on PC before. The games I want to use it for are Dark Souls III and GtaV for now. 

i5-6600K 3,50GHz | Motherboard Gigabyte B150M-D3H | RAM Crucial Ballistix 16GB DDR4-2400 | GTX970 | 500GB SSD EVO | 2560x1440p 27" | Corsair 650W 

8 minutes ago, Hielke said:

Dear all,

I am looking to buy a controller for my PC. What are the things I need to look for? Which once are best compatible and user-friendly? I'd love to hear personal experiences from you guys. I've never used a controller on PC before. The games I want to use it for are Dark Souls III and GtaV for now. 

My father currently uses an Xbox One controller for playing games on PC from the couch.

We picked up one of these: https://www.xbox.com/en-GB/xbox-one/accessories/controllers/windows-wireless-adapter and then just used a newer Xbox One controller with the 3.5mm headphone connector and it works amazingly well xD

I hope this helps and good luck with your search for a controller! 

I once did the unthinkable, back many headphones ago...

I split an audio split, again

what is your price range?  Do you ever intend to use it in a competitive multiplayer capacity?

On the high end you have stuff like this  https://scufgaming.com/scuf-infinity-1-custom-controller/spectrum/white-soft-touch

And on the lower, but still very serviceable end you have stuff like this

https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-940-000110-Gamepad-F310/dp/B003VAHYQY/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1518896559&sr=8-3&keywords=logitech+controller