Java VS VB for GUI programming

Hikaru12

I'm looking on tackling a programming project this winter break which leaves me with about a month to write something. The programming project is basically going to be a goal tracker which is going to use a GUI interface with checkboxes and radio buttons, etc. I'm only a beginner to programming so I haven't had much experience working with GUI's as most of my work has involved using the console or command line. Therefore, what programming language would you recommend that's quick and easy to learn to build a GUI? I heard Java's swing library isn't too bad but VB is easier for designing quick form based apps (which is what this would be). 

VB for da win!

CPU: FX-8350, GPU: xfx radeon r9 290, RAM: corsair venegance 8gb, STORAGE; seagate barracuda 1TB hdd, SSDnow kingston 120gb, CPU COOLER: CM hyper 212 , CASE: fractal design XL, PSU: corsair CS 650w 80+ gold MOBO: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

Why not a WPF project? Then you won't have to touch the horrible VB or Java :D

Why not a WPF project? Then you won't have to touch the horrible VB or Java :D

+1 here. java is terrible and VB is syntactically different than java. WPF + C#

Ive never heard of it. Is it easy to pick up. I heard C is fun to play with as you get more direct control over your hardware.

Alright I'll give it a shot. I like how the XAML keeps appearance and functionality separate - a very important part in any UI design.

Alright I'll give it a shot. I like how the XAML keeps appearance and functionality separate - a very important part in any UI design.

I have been aging with XAML and C#. C# isn't new to me but XAML was. It's very clean I think. Makes for some really great UIs

Use it along with an MVVM pattern and you are golden. Totally decoupled Model and View code!