To encourage social distancing, you must leave two blank lines at the start and end of every post, and before and after every quote. Failure to comply may result in non-essential parts of the forum closing. Click for more details. ×
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
ehawkins2232

Unplugged GPU, Computer powered off, PSU still on

Posted · Original PosterOP

So a buddy of mine just called me, and told me that he was unplugging his editing PCs gpu (gtx 970) and swapping it with a gtx 1070ti, but he didn't turn of the PSU. Now he is attempting to turn back on the computer, but all that happens is his fans turn on for a second then turn off. I think it might be possible that he fried something inside the computer.

-I have limited knowledge of the specs, except the 2 gpus he swapped

-He is running Windows 10

- I do not have the time to look at the pc right now, but he tells me that there is no burning smell coming from the case.

I suggested he tried to at least get into the bios, but it seems the system doesn't even want to post. Any suggestions?

you should never ever unplug or plug PCI-e , DIMM, CPU or any thing.... even SATA Drives if your motherboard is still being powered on by the PSU, doing so can result in damaged hardware.

Workstation Rig:
CPU:  Intel Core i9 9900K @5.0ghz  |~| Cooling: beQuiet! Dark Rock 4 |~|  MOBO: Asus Z390M ROG Maximus XI GENE |~| RAM: 32gb 3333mhz CL15 G.Skill Trident Z RGB |~| GPU: nVidia TITAN V  |~| PSU: beQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 80Plus Platinum  |~| Boot: Intel 660p 2TB NVMe |~| Storage: 2X4TB HDD 7200rpm Seagate Iron Wolf + 2X2TB SSD SanDisk Ultra |~| Case: Cooler Master Case Pro 3 |~| Display: Acer Predator X34 3440x1440p100hz |~| OS: Windows 10 Pro.

Personal Use Rig: