Jump to content
To encourage social distancing, you must leave two blank lines at the start and end of every post, and before and after every quote. Failure to comply may result in non-essential parts of the forum closing. Click for more details. ×
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Whaler_99

Folding@Home Install Guide and Links - LinusTechTips_Team - 223518

Recommended Posts

Hey guys! Finally got around to joining! :D 

Dont know if mine will be good but every bit counts! using rig below in sig. i should be able to do alot while im at school and the few amount of hrs while im sleeping. :P

 

also how do i know if everythings up and all good?

 

http://imgur.com/467s3N1

highlited in red, i dont get what it means by "cpu:7"

 

http://imgur.com/PEg4IGo

everything ok here?

 

http://imgur.com/Haht50c
whats the difference in folding from the plugin over the desktop app. what if i have them both open at the same time? which one should i use?

 

also how do i check where i am towards the LTT team and what im ranked in the team and world aswell.

 

sorry for the barrage of questions just wanna make sure before i start for the long haul. ^_^

Cheers!


In the grim darkness of the far future, there is only a GTX 1080, just a single 1080, where my glorious PC once stood....

For that is all I need, For the Emperor of Man, Jen-Hsun Huang, protects. We march for Nvidia, and we shall know no fear!

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey guys! Finally got around to joining! :D

Dont know if mine will be good but every bit counts! using rig below in sig. i should be able to do alot while im at school and the few amount of hrs while im sleeping. :P

 

also how do i know if everythings up and all good?

 

http://imgur.com/467s3N1

highlited in red, i dont get what it means by "cpu:7"

 

http://imgur.com/PEg4IGo

everything ok here?

 

http://imgur.com/Haht50c

whats the difference in folding from the plugin over the desktop app. what if i have them both open at the same time? which one should i use?

 

also how do i check where i am towards the LTT team and what im ranked in the team and world aswell.

 

sorry for the barrage of questions just wanna make sure before i start for the long haul. ^_^

Cheers!

I am in no way an expert, I just joined yesterday... and haven't read all the forums... but if you right click on the folding@home tray icon, there is a protein view, if its running you should see a map with a giant protein ominously preparing to attack the world and rule all humans.

 

Other than that, I noticed sometimes it uses just my cpu, sometimes it also uses my gpus (but the cpu completed 10% while one gpu was at 3% and the other was at 1%)


I always guarantee that no more than 50% of what I say is useful.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey guys! Finally got around to joining! :D

Dont know if mine will be good but every bit counts! using rig below in sig. i should be able to do alot while im at school and the few amount of hrs while im sleeping. :P

 

also how do i know if everythings up and all good?

 

http://imgur.com/467s3N1

highlited in red, i dont get what it means by "cpu:7"

 

http://imgur.com/PEg4IGo

everything ok here?

 

http://imgur.com/Haht50c

whats the difference in folding from the plugin over the desktop app. what if i have them both open at the same time? which one should i use?

 

also how do i check where i am towards the LTT team and what im ranked in the team and world aswell.

 

sorry for the barrage of questions just wanna make sure before i start for the long haul. ^_^

Cheers!

Welcome to the Fold :)


Rig CPU Intel i5 3570K at 4.2 GHz - MB MSI Z77A-GD55 - RAM Kingston 8GB 1600 mhz - GPU XFX 7870 Double D - Keyboard Logitech G710+

Case Corsair 600T - Storage Intel 330 120GB, WD Blue 1TB - CPU Cooler Noctua NH-D14 - Displays Dell U2312HM, Asus VS228, Acer AL1715

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey guys! Finally got around to joining! :D

Dont know if mine will be good but every bit counts! using rig below in sig. i should be able to do alot while im at school and the few amount of hrs while im sleeping. :P

 

also how do i know if everythings up and all good?

 

http://imgur.com/467s3N1

highlited in red, i dont get what it means by "cpu:7"

 

http://imgur.com/PEg4IGo

everything ok here?

 

http://imgur.com/Haht50c

whats the difference in folding from the plugin over the desktop app. what if i have them both open at the same time? which one should i use?

 

also how do i check where i am towards the LTT team and what im ranked in the team and world aswell.

 

sorry for the barrage of questions just wanna make sure before i start for the long haul. ^_^

Cheers!

hello and welcome, i was in the middle of moving (kinda still am) haven't had time to adress this comment.. and my internet connection isn't sufficient to open several web pages out here in the woods..

 

it should be fine as long as you have remembered to setup a passkey and added our team number 223518, it's all in the stickies, you can check if your points are going to the ltt team by using kakao stats http://kakaostats.com/t.php?t=223518

or go to  the folding@home home page and check the statistics.

our team on folding@home http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=223518

search for your name or passkey to find your global folding ranking. http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userstats

 

cpu 7 means you have 7 threads/cores dedicated to that project, your 4770k has 8 threads but one of them is dedicated to the gpu projects, that's why it says 7.

 

do not use both programs to fold, they will interfere with eachother and make little progress.. you should only stick with one program as that will make use of the resources avaliable to it depending on the settings, the web app is more lighweight, has fewer options for control and no gpu support, i would use the regular desktop client if you want to do proper computing.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks like mine (http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&username=dfox_mxyzptlk) stopped updating the score since last Saturday. Does anyone have the same issue?

 

Edit: Looks like it's updated now. I can see my 1,000,000 points.

i am not getting any WU's any more and no updates 

 

23:36:45:WARNING:WU01:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.64.65.121:80': Empty work server assignment
23:36:45:ERROR:WU01:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment

fractal define r4 - msi z77 mpower - i5 3570k 4.5ghz -alphacool water cooling+noctua -gtx 780ti-1323mhz-1.25v - corsair ax760i -vertex 4 120gb x2 - 840 evo 500gb - asus xonar dgx 

corsair k70 - logitech g502 - sennheiser game zero - logitech z906 5.1 -samsung 46" iiyama 27"144hz - http://gabegaming.com/

Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Original PosterOP

 

i am not getting any WU's any more and no updates 

 

23:36:45:WARNING:WU01:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.64.65.121:80': Empty work server assignment
23:36:45:ERROR:WU01:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment

 

 

Yep, I was having a similar issue with my 780. Stop the folding app, go into the Start Menu for folding, Data Directory and then in there go into the work directory. I ended up having to delete everything in the work folder. PITA :)


Forum Links - Community Standards, Privacy Policy, FAQ, Features Suggestions, Bug and Issues.

Folding/Boinc Info - Check out the Folding and Boinc Section, read the Folding Install thread and the Folding FAQ. Info on Boinc is here. Don't forget to join team 223518. Check out other users Folding Rigs for ideas. Don't forget to follow the @LTTCompute for updates and other random posts about the various teams.

Follow me on Twitter for updates @Whaler_99

 

 

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep, I was having a similar issue with my 780. Stop the folding app, go into the Start Menu for folding, Data Directory and then in there go into the work directory. I ended up having to delete everything in the work folder. PITA :)

i started folding today and it got a new WU i guess its fixed  :D


fractal define r4 - msi z77 mpower - i5 3570k 4.5ghz -alphacool water cooling+noctua -gtx 780ti-1323mhz-1.25v - corsair ax760i -vertex 4 120gb x2 - 840 evo 500gb - asus xonar dgx 

corsair k70 - logitech g502 - sennheiser game zero - logitech z906 5.1 -samsung 46" iiyama 27"144hz - http://gabegaming.com/

Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Original PosterOP

I got one, worked, then failing trying to get another...


Forum Links - Community Standards, Privacy Policy, FAQ, Features Suggestions, Bug and Issues.

Folding/Boinc Info - Check out the Folding and Boinc Section, read the Folding Install thread and the Folding FAQ. Info on Boinc is here. Don't forget to join team 223518. Check out other users Folding Rigs for ideas. Don't forget to follow the @LTTCompute for updates and other random posts about the various teams.

Follow me on Twitter for updates @Whaler_99

 

 

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Quick question, What is the team number so i can join?


My PC:

Spoiler

MOBO: MSI Z97 PC MATE, CPU: Intel I5 4690K 3.5GHz, GPU: Gigabyte GTX 1050ti D5 4G, Ram: 8Gb (2x4gb) Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL 9, Case: NZXT S340, Psu: EVGA 500B, HDD: WD 1Tb Caviar Blue + WD 256Gb scorpio blue  SSD: Sandisk SSD PLUS 240Gb

Link to post
Share on other sites

Quick question, What is the team number so i can join?

it's mentioned in the thread and it's in the very title of the thread :P, it's 223518, happy folding.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Joined, quick question

 

How can i make for only mu GPU to fold? Or like only my CPU?


My PC:

Spoiler

MOBO: MSI Z97 PC MATE, CPU: Intel I5 4690K 3.5GHz, GPU: Gigabyte GTX 1050ti D5 4G, Ram: 8Gb (2x4gb) Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL 9, Case: NZXT S340, Psu: EVGA 500B, HDD: WD 1Tb Caviar Blue + WD 256Gb scorpio blue  SSD: Sandisk SSD PLUS 240Gb

Link to post
Share on other sites

Joined, quick question

 

How can i make for only mu GPU to fold? Or like only my CPU?

remember to put the slider to full if you want the gpu to always run even when you are using the pc, you should right click on the top slots for cpu/gpu and get the options to start/pause etc.. maybe you should make a new thread if you have more questions and update that as you run into something you are wondering about?

 

this thread might also be useful to you.

http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/1091-for-folding-users-tips-tricks-and-faq-updated-march-2014/

Link to post
Share on other sites

I just joined the F@team as shd0w2 and i'm confused. I'm not actually earning any points with my GTX 770 and i5 4690k, idk if it is a bug, or what, but I'd like some help with what to do to fix it, and what settings to run

 

Also, since I joined, do I right away earn the F@ H Team badge? I'd like to know if  Iget that. I'll start folding for the other badges, but  Icant as it doesnt seem to be working

@tobben

5IHmJBJ.jpg


Diamond 5 in League :)

Link to post
Share on other sites

I just joined the F@team as shd0w2 and i'm confused. I'm not actually earning any points with my GTX 770 and i5 4690k, idk if it is a bug, or what, but I'd like some help with what to do to fix it, and what settings to run

 

Also, since I joined, do I right away earn the F@ H Team badge? I'd like to know if  Iget that. I'll start folding for the other badges, but  Icant as it doesnt seem to be working

@tobben

if you literally just started it will take some time for the client to get cozy and stabilize so the point/time estimates ppd tpf eta and whatnot will be completely whacked out at first, it should be fine in an hour or so, so it should pretty much have settled in by the time you see this comment, otherwise there might be a problem..

 

i would use the advanced client instead of the web control, it will give more options and more information, on the F@Home icon on the taskbar right click and click on advanced control instead of web control, within that client there should be 3 tabs, one is the log of what the client has been up to, that will be useful for future troubleshooting.

 

and as Punchclown said remember to setup a passkey, once you have done 10 cpu wu's  with atleast 80% return rate using the passkey you will be eligible to receive bonus points for wu's, but before that you will just be getting the base credit and no quick return bonus.

 

Whaler will be the one to contact about badges, as it says in the stickie you will get the contributor badge when you have done atleast 21 wu's and contact whaler or one of the other mods.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Original PosterOP

I just joined the F@team as shd0w2 and i'm confused. I'm not actually earning any points with my GTX 770 and i5 4690k, idk if it is a bug, or what, but I'd like some help with what to do to fix it, and what settings to run

 

Also, since I joined, do I right away earn the F@ H Team badge? I'd like to know if  Iget that. I'll start folding for the other badges, but  Icant as it doesnt seem to be working

@tobben

 

 

Let us know if it has started working - I am having a similar issue that my client will simply not get any new WU's.... Trying to sort out why...


Forum Links - Community Standards, Privacy Policy, FAQ, Features Suggestions, Bug and Issues.

Folding/Boinc Info - Check out the Folding and Boinc Section, read the Folding Install thread and the Folding FAQ. Info on Boinc is here. Don't forget to join team 223518. Check out other users Folding Rigs for ideas. Don't forget to follow the @LTTCompute for updates and other random posts about the various teams.

Follow me on Twitter for updates @Whaler_99

 

 

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi 

How long does a powerful PC take to fold?


The Asus UX305 has an Almighty Intel core M-5Y10 0.8GHZ, GPU Intel HD 5300 Windforce, SDD 120GB, Passively Cooled, 1920x1080 Matte Screen, An Fantastic ICEpower Audio Making my House Shake and Having more ports then a MacBook btw this not an advertisement.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi 

How long does a powerful PC take to fold?

Forever, folding is not a one time thing, it is continuously downloading more info, and folding again, and again, and again...


Network/Homelab build log Main PC: "Aqua Blue"  Server: 15TB+ "Blue Lightning"

1800x, 32GB RAM, 2x1080Ti, 2.5TB+ SSD Storage, 3x2560x1440 and 1x1920x1200 monitor

My website: http://mariusjs.me/

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi 

How long does a powerful PC take to fold?

this question needs some rephrasing if anyone is going to be able to answer it, you don't "finish" folding but you can complete the individual work units sendt to you, they vary in size and duration from a few hours to maybe a full day, so the question doesn't have alot of merit, but powerful/high end hardware will finish most normal wu's in a few hours.

 

Forever, folding is not a one time thing, it is continuously downloading more info, and folding again, and again, and again...

well the project itself will likely morph and change as it progresses but we are working on something finite :P.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Take 2:Hi 

How long does a powerful PC take to complete one unit?

Core i5-Core 17

FX6300-FX 9370

GTX 760-TITAN

Radeon R9 270-R9 290x


The Asus UX305 has an Almighty Intel core M-5Y10 0.8GHZ, GPU Intel HD 5300 Windforce, SDD 120GB, Passively Cooled, 1920x1080 Matte Screen, An Fantastic ICEpower Audio Making my House Shake and Having more ports then a MacBook btw this not an advertisement.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Original PosterOP

Take 2:Hi

How long does a powerful PC take to complete one unit?

Core i5-Core 17

FX6300-FX 9370

GTX 760-TITAN

Radeon R9 270-R9 290x

Again, hard to say. A Core17 is a GPU work unit. Now, depending on which project, what else the card may be doing, can all effect the time. Literally for various Core17 projects this could be from a couple of hours to a day...


Forum Links - Community Standards, Privacy Policy, FAQ, Features Suggestions, Bug and Issues.

Folding/Boinc Info - Check out the Folding and Boinc Section, read the Folding Install thread and the Folding FAQ. Info on Boinc is here. Don't forget to join team 223518. Check out other users Folding Rigs for ideas. Don't forget to follow the @LTTCompute for updates and other random posts about the various teams.

Follow me on Twitter for updates @Whaler_99

 

 

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm back to folding on my 3770k and 670 and in the time I have that system and my new build I will have 2 folding at night and the 3770k + 670 rig folding near 24/7 !

Link to post
Share on other sites

Some cards do as they are under constant full load. I have a 660ti witch does the same, but my sli 680's don't make as much noise.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×