Difference between SFX and ATX PSU

string111

Hey there!
I'm pretty new to PC building (doing my second build atm). So I am using the Thermaltake core G3 case, which needs a SFX power supply, because it the case is super slim. So what is actually the difference between an ATX and a SFX PSU? I have been looking but didn't found how they compare to each other on their specs (unfortunately, I only found why they both exist). 

Thanks for your help!

Greetings Raph!

Their size and thus also screwing holes.

So if your case requires an SFXPSU, you gotta get one of those.The Corsair SF series are quite high quality modular SFX PSUs.

"We're all in this together, might as well be friends" Tom, Toonami.

mini eLiXiVy: my open source 65% mechanical PCB, a build log, PCB anatomy and discussing open source licenses: https://linustechtips.com/topic/1366493-elixivy-a-65-mechanical-keyboard-build-log-pcb-anatomy-and-how-i-open-sourced-this-project/

mini_cardboard: a 4% keyboard build log and how keyboards workhttps://linustechtips.com/topic/1328547-mini_cardboard-a-4-keyboard-build-log-and-how-keyboards-work/

2 hours ago, string111 said:

Hey there!
I'm pretty new to PC building (doing my second build atm). So I am using the Thermaltake core G3 case, which needs a SFX power supply, because it the case is super slim. So what is actually the difference between an ATX and a SFX PSU? I have been looking but didn't found how they compare to each other on their specs (unfortunately, I only found why they both exist). 

Thanks for your help!

Greetings Raph!

its the difference between form factor an SFX psu in for a smaller case an, SFX case. an atx psu is for the most cases and is so considered the normal size.

the Fabrikant of your case says that they only guarantee this psu will fit: Toughpower SFX 600W Gold

ask me about your system builds, AIO's, CPU's, PSU's, and GPU's.