What OS should I choose for storage server?

i work at a family auction house that's working on getting a file server. We hold customer information, every item we have ever sold, who sold the items, who bought them, for how much, and when they were sold. I'm new to servers and was wondering which operating system I should use. I would like to be able to use a hardware raid for better reliability. 

Figure out what application you want to use to handle all of that information first.

While Linux is handy because it's easy to do things like remote in and work on stuff, if the application that fits your needs runs only on Windows, then that's not a problem either. You'll just have to work with what it's capable of.

a simple way to get a headless server running effectively and cheaply (e.g. free) is ubuntu server. Just select the samba file server when you install and you're just a tiny bit of configuration and authentication setup away from a working file system. 

As far as raid goes, you might want to look into software raid. It does have the downside of not having battery cache protection (e.g. a sudden system powerloss has the chance to be problematic if you are actively writing when it goes down), but it does allow you to rebuild and recover the array if you only have the drives. In other words, you can take the drives (assuming they are still working) and mount them on another system, and rebuild the array as long as it uses the same RAID manager (e.g. mdadm in linux).