Applicants? Coding Projects?

rsethc
Go to solution Solved by sgzUk74r3T3BCGmRJ,

?

So I just was watching last week's WAN Show archived on YouTube and heard this about some kind of applicants, I assume to work at LMG, and something about coding projects. I am wondering what this is all about, since I'm an amateur software developer and would certainly be interested in some kind of competition. Anyone know exactly what they are talking about in that snippet? The YouTube link goes directly to the time 1:09:01 which is about where they are discussing this.

My apologies if this is not in the right section, I am quite new to the forum.

3 hours ago, sgzUk74r3T3BCGmRJ said:

If I heard that correctly, they're expecting somebody to spend a weekend working on a 'screening' project before they receive an interview? I hope they're able to find good applicants but that's a big time commitment.

Building a "demo" project for a software developer position is very common. If I understood that correctly they are looking for a professional Backend (maybe Fullstack?) developer to build their own video platform. But I think you misunderstood Luke. The Coding challenge was a few weeks long and got to and end this week. 

I'm not sure exactly what the project in question even is though. Maybe it's more akin to a Google Code Jam problem, designed to test the candidate's abilities to come up with efficient and reliable algorithms. If anyone - presumably applicants or someone already working at LMG - knows what the actual task was (and you're not under an NDA - don't violate that if you are!) I'm really curious to hear the details of what you were asked to do.

21 hours ago, sgzUk74r3T3BCGmRJ said:

If I heard that correctly, they're expecting somebody to spend a weekend working on a 'screening' project before they receive an interview? I hope they're able to find good applicants but that's a big time commitment.