Which of these monitors is better for me?

JamieBritain101

Hi,

I'm a student who is looking for a new 1080p 27" monitor. I'm not a gamer but enjoy video editing.

I'm currently stuck between these 2 monitors: the Samsung C27F396 and the HP 27es (or HP 27er depending on territory). I like the Samsung because it's curved and the HP because it's Technicolor Certified (not sure if that's something genuinely useful or just marketing hype). The 2 things I need from the monitor are for it to be good for video editing and document processing for courseworks etc.

Both monitors are similar in price around the 250 USD mark, but if anyone has any suggestions they feel are better than these two, it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

the Technicolor Certified thing is basically telling you that the monitor can do Technicolor sRGB color gamut and is already calibrated to do so. but you can change to your color gamuts/profiles to your liking. 

4 minutes ago, Technicolors said:

the Technicolor Certified thing is basically telling you that the monitor can do Technicolor sRGB color gamut and is already calibrated to do so. but you can change to your color gamuts/profiles to your liking. 

Not because you gave the monitor certification?

The HP 27er (or 27es?) is pretty nice. It's what I'm using right now. It's decently sharp, though 27" is about the biggest you want a 1080p monitor. The colors are good, and the design is very well done. When first opened the box, I was struck by how thin the actual screen is, and the skinny bezels are quite nice. A+ for HP!

Intel HEDT and Server platform enthusiasts: Intel HEDT Xeon/i7 Megathread 

Main PC 

CPU: i9 7980XE @4.5GHz/1.22v/-2 AVX offset 

Cooler: EKWB Supremacy Block - custom loop w/360mm +280mm rads 

Motherboard: EVGA X299 Dark 

RAM:4x8GB HyperX Predator DDR4 @3200Mhz CL16 

GPU: Nvidia FE 2060 Super/Corsair HydroX 2070 FE block 

Storage:  1TB MP34 + 1TB 970 Evo + 500GB Atom30 + 250GB 960 Evo 

Optical Drives: LG WH14NS40