M.2 newbie

Alukis

I have a msi raider motherboard that supports m.2 turbo as they market it. I am new to the storage market and need to expand my SSD for faster game loads. I have watched Linus videos on m.2 and I'm still lost. How do I know what to buy for my motherboards m.2 slot. The owners manual States

• 1 x M.2 port, supports up to 32Gb/s speed**
- M.2 port supports 4.2cm/ 6cm/ 8cm length module
- M.2 PCIe interface does not support RAID 0, RAID1, RAID 5 and RAID 10.

* The SATA Express port or SATA5~6 ports will be unavailable when installing the M.2 (Gen2 x2 mode) module in the M.2 port.

** Intel RST does not support PCIe M.2 SSD with Legacy ROM.

can someone point me in the right direction here?

looking at the website, the m.2 slot on your motherboard supports both SATA and PCIe SSD's. The only requirement is that are no longer than 80mm. 

Just now, JohnnyCorporalTech said:

looking at the website, the m.2 slot on your motherboard supports both SATA and PCIe SSD's. The only requirement is that are no longer than 80mm. 

The next thing to look at is what kind of pin setup does it look like. By what Newegg shows, it is an M Pin Card, shown here: m.2-connectors.jpg

The next thing to note is if you are wanting to install Windows on it as well. If that is the case, get an M.2 that says nVME. This allows for an OS to me installed onto an M.2

So I was currently looking at WD Black PCIe Gen3 x4 NVMe-based SSD 512GB. Seems to be good value? 

1 minute ago, xyameax said:

The next thing to look at is what kind of pin setup does it look like. By what Newegg shows, it is an M Pin Card, shown here: m.2-connectors.jpg

The next thing to note is if you are wanting to install Windows on it as well. If that is the case, get an M.2 that says nVME. This allows for an OS to me installed onto an M.2

The MSI website specifies M, So you can only install M and B+M ssds in the slot, you will not be able to install B ssd's.