From Netflix to Bluray

IAmAndre

Hi,

I'm considering stopping using Netflix I've realized that I spend too much money on it. $10 might not seem to be a lot, but that's $120 per year, and the worst is I don't watch it that often. I can spend a whole month without watching even once. I found Blurays on eBay at affordable prices. Like I could get both seasons 1 and 2 of Gotham for $25, which is less than 3 months of Netflix, and I would probably need around 6 months to watch all episodes. First, do you think it's a good decision?

Now I just realized that I have never used Blurays before. I've been using a mix of Netflix and Google Play Movies and a Chromecast. I have a few questions :

- Do I need to buy a specific Bluray player, or any player would be fine. I have a 1080p 40" TV.

- To play the Blurays on my PC, do I need a specific player to play the Blurays on my desktop PC? Same question if I decide to buy a laptop.

- Would I lose quality if I rip the Blurays and stream the file from my tablet to my Chromecast?

- Is there anything else to be aware of? Is there a better Netflix alternative for me (I'm not in the US so Amazon and Hulu aren't an option) ?

Thanks

If you are planning on ripping bluray you will need special software. If you want it to process in a reasonable mount of time you will also need a nice processor or a program that can utilize a gpu. As far as quality, that's up to you. Personally i rip all of my blurays at as high a quality as possible, the files end up large but I can't tell the difference between the rip and the original. If you want to play blurays on your computer you will also need special software to do so. 

27 minutes ago, COUPER MILLAR said: