22°C diff by changing thermal paste? Tom's.

tridy

I am not an expert on thermal paste but I have trouble believing that.

Some time I watched a video from LTT last year: Delidding an Intel Core i7 6700K - Is it worth it!? and it seemed to make sense, or, at least, something one could expect.

Today, I came across an article from Tom,s Hardware "De-Lidding and Overclocking Core i7-7700K with Water and LN2", from March 20, 2017 and they say,

As expected, Intel's thermal interface material trails. The Kryonaut performs only 6°C better. And the Conductonaut gives us a -22°C temperature drop.

22 degrees temperature drop by just changing a thermal paste? No way!

I don't count on people at Intel being idiots or a "miracle" thermal paste. So, what am I missing, or what were they thinking?

Please adjust your post quite difficult to read.

Capture.JPG.41aac1b041d498ba86c5deec1558cf6f.JPG

COMMUNITY STANDARDS   |   TECH NEWS POSTING GUIDELINES   |   FORUM STAFF

LTT Folding Users Tips, Tricks and FAQ   |   F@H & BOINC Badge Request   |   F@H Contribution    My Rig   |   Project Steamroller

I am a Moderator, but I am fallible. Discuss or debate with me as you will but please do not argue with me as that will get us nowhere.

Spoiler

Character is like a Tree and Reputation like its Shadow. The Shadow is what we think of it; The Tree is the Real thing.  ~ Abraham Lincoln

Reputation is a Lifetime to create but seconds to destroy.

You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.  ~ Winston Churchill

Docendo discimus - "to teach is to learn"

CHRISTIAN MEMBER 

1 minute ago, MonkeyBrainz said: