Gaming Monitor - 1440p, G-Sync, 27"+

Grinnam

Hi

Long time fan of the channel, first time poster. Would like some help with monitor choosing. I recently got a GTX1060 for fairly cheap (new but someone wanted to get rid of it) and I wanted to upgrade my monitor setup. Current is a 24" and 27", both 1080p, no special gimmicks.

I am a developer and gamer so the extra real-estate would be nice: I am looking for a monitor that is 1440p because 4k would be overkill on my gfx card I think(let me know if this is possible). G-Sync since I am, and probably will for the forseeable future, stick with Nvidia. To be discussed if G-sync adds real value, never seen it in action. Minimum size of 27". Budget can go a little higher since the investment should last me 5+ years. Say max € 600(same in dollars because F conversions).

Would love your opinions on why I should go for a specific monitor. I am not afraid of ultra wides, curved and the likes. The games I play range from The Witcher to Heroes of the Storm to Doom to turnbased slowass games. So it needs to be able to keep up with the speed of certain titles.

Thanks for the help in advance!

Dell S2716dg, Acer Predator XB271HUAbmiprz or ASUS ROG Swift PG278QR.

First 2 are around 600€ here in germany, the Asus 650. Depending on country, shop etc, they should be available for around 600.

As for G-Sync: http://testufo.com/#test=stutter&demo=smooth&foreground=FFFFFF&background=000000&max=12&pps=720

Check the "Demo" options.

Smooth means, you have 60 fps on 60 Hz, and synced. Super smooth, perfect 16,67 ms frametimes.

Microstuttering / Stuttering means: V-Sync is on, Frames are synced, but you have less than 60 fps. How do you fir 50 frames into 60 Hz? exactly. 10 of those images would need to be doubled --> those frames stay double the time --> Stuttering, beause it "freezes" for a cycle.

Tearing: This is what you get, when V-Sync is off. Not synced, no stuttering, but tearing.