NASA & Others

What do you think about NASA and other space agencies?
Are they pointless? Do they have too big budgets? Whatever your answer, justify it, please.
I love space exploration, so I obviously support space agencies and its projects/missions (I'm not a scientist or anything like that, I'm just obsessed with it, :)).

9 minutes ago, DaemonWarrior44 said:

Are they pointless? Do they have too big budgets? Whatever your answer, justify it, please.
I love space exploration, so I obviously support space agencies and its projects/missions (I'm not a scientist or anything like that, I'm just obsessed with it, :)).

I think that private companies like SpaceX are the future of space exploration because they are private companies, and can be funded by public interest, or can be sponsored by the government if need be. This also gives them incentive to figure out how to explore space in a cheaper way.

This is just my personal opinion, but a lot of government science based agencies like NASA and USGS provide critical resources and technological advances so long as they are focused on the science aspect without being too dragged into the political arena.  I enjoy quite a bit of the science that they publish and a lot of it goes to help advance our everyday lives as well as society, but I don't enjoy having to try and determine if a scientific abstract was written for scientific purposes or if it was written under political motives to help raise revenue from the government for continued operation.

1 minute ago, WMGroomAK said:

I don't enjoy having to try and determine if a scientific abstract was written for scientific purposes or if it was written under political motives to help raise revenue from the government for continued operation.

What do you mean? Fake scientific discoveries or what?

4 minutes ago, DaemonWarrior44 said:

What do you mean? Fake scientific discoveries or what?