Refresh rate differences and the current state of HDR

Kikstyo

I've had my eye on the Asus PG348Q, since its announcement in the summer of 2015(?) and I just have some questions before I pull the trigger. I have been using my 24" 60hz 1080p LG monitor for at least 6 years now and I am content with playing games at this refresh rate and resolution but I am looking to upgrade. I do plan to keep the Asus monitor for the same if not a longer period of time if I do make the purchase so i'm trying to future-proof as much as possible. a TL:DR summary is at the end of the post. 

So my questions are:

1. Refresh Rate

I know there are new posts about monitor refresh rates every other day. However after reading testimonies on countless articles, there are numerous comparisons between 60hz vs 120/144hz (two extremes). I already understand that the difference between 60 and 100hz is night and day. What i'm curious about is if 120hz or 144hz is a lot better than 100hz or do diminishing returns hit hard after 100hz? Would feel shitty to buy a $1500+ monitor only to find out there is a 120hz or 144hz variant the next year but if it doesn't make that much of a difference then I won't feel as shitty.

2. HDR

Many of the articles that i've read use a lot of jargon and talk more about TVs than gaming monitors. After seeing Linus' video on this new Asus HDR monitor I want to know if HDR really makes that big of a difference and if I need it. A friend told me that IPS panels are already quite colour accurate and HDR would not be that beneficial, but he's probably talking out of his ass. The reason I am asking this is the same as the previous question. Would feel shitty as I plan to keep the monitor that I end up with at least 5+ years and I can wait another year for a better monitor.