1080p or 1440p?

Davesyn

Hey there!

I recently got a new computer, but I didn't get a screen because I have a 19" TV, but it's native resolution is 1366x768.

I work as a programmer, and I use a 1440p 27" iMac at work, which is really good, so I'd like something similar for my PC.

On the other hand, my friend recently got a not-so-expensive 1080p ASUS monitor which looks incredible, and even more compared to my TV.

I like both 1080p and 1440p resolutions, but 1440p monitors are WAY more expensive than 1080p ones.

So, my question is: Should I get a nice 1080p monitor and stick with that until I "really" need a 1440p one? If I do this, I'd go dual monitor, even though they are different resolutions.

Or should I save up and get a 1440p right away?

I'd use the screen for gaming, coding and general internet browsing, as well as some audio stuff.

P.D: I've seen some 4K monitors that are on the same price range as 1440p ones. Is it worth it? Wouldn't upscaled content look blurry on it?

Sorry if I haven't explained myself correctly.

Thanks! 

Can you give us some info on your PC specs?  

That will greatly effect recomendations

Want to custom loop?  Ask me more if you are curious

Here you go:

Intel i5 6600K

MSI Krait Gaming z170

Corsair 16GB RAM

Seasonic S12II 650W

120GB SSD + 2TB HDD

I don't have a graphics card yet, mainly because I won't play much in the following months, but I'll probably get a 1060 soon.

Anyway, I'd like to have the monitor first, so I can do generic stuff more comfortably until I get the graphics card.

Thanks!. 

Just now, Aytex said:

6600k, and going to get a 1060, hasn't received it yet.

Wow, you were faster than me :ph34r:

NVM, I doubt you can drive a 1440p screen on integrated graphics. How high do you have your graphics quality in games?