RAM: Single vs. Dual Channel

Go to solution Solved by Corrupt_Liberty,
Just now, DaemonWarrior44 said:

Mostly gaming, I'm relatively new in computers so I don't care much about things like editing, programming, etc.

Then you won't notice much difference one way or the other.  

Since both are at about the same price, I want to know if there's any difference between Single and Dual Channel RAM.
In my opinion, Dual Channel is aesthetically better, but I care much more about performance. Is there any difference?
P.S: I'm going to buy DDR4 RAM.

Dual channel literally means 2 channels. More communication space, faster loading times, more bandwidth. GO dual

http://pcpartpicker.com/list/Mf3Zcc My build

R.I.P Donny- Got banned. We will always remember your spamming of "Cancerbooks"

iPhones are like 1 ply toliet paper with a logo slapped on them and years old hardware in them- A Wise Man

5 minutes ago, DaemonWarrior44 said:

Since both are at about the same price, I want to know if there's any difference between Single and Dual Channel RAM.
In my opinion, Dual Channel is aesthetically better, but I care much more about performance. Is there any difference?
P.S: I'm going to buy DDR4 RAM.

RAM can be operated in Single-Channel Mode or Dual-Channel Mode, but there is no "Single-Channel RAM" or "Dual-Channel RAM". It's just RAM. Whether it runs in Single or Dual channel mode depends on the system and configuration, not on the RAM itself.

1 minute ago, Glenwing said:

RAM can be operated in Single-Channel Mode or Dual-Channel Mode, but there is no "Single-Channel RAM" or "Dual-Channel RAM". It's just RAM. Whether it runs in Single or Dual channel mode depends on the system and configuration, not on the RAM itself.

This was what I was thinking too.

Just now, xentropa said:

This was what I was thinking too.

Okay, understood. So the question should be: Is there any difference between Single-Channel Mode and Dual-Channel Mode?

♠FlamieMeister♠