Mixers and ProTools for Windows

Hey LTT Forum,

I wasn't sure where to put this, so I figured the general discussion board would be the best.  So, basically, I studied audio engineering while in college and in those days its was all about ProTools on Macs.  It was the industry standard and everybody used it.  Let's flash forward to today, where I still think Mac/ProTools is the standard, but PCs and ProTool for Windows has certainly closed the gap.  Being out of the audio mixing/mastering game for about 12 years now, what would be a nice home studio board to get that won't break the bank, but still has great usability with ProTools Windows.  I  don't need some giant 64 channel mixer.  I'm talking 16 channels and something that can fit on or under my desk.  I look forward to hearing everyone's input!  Thanks

~Tropton13~

ProTools is waaay overrated and doesn't offer a whole lot over other choices, at least not anymore. Been using Reaper for a long time now and I've only spent $60 on it as they have two more than fair licenses (which you can find on their website). It comes with every single plugin you need unless for some reason you prefer something else like different compressors maybe for example. That of course is if you don't already have ProTools. ;)

As for audio interfaces, I would spend the money on something from Focusrite as they have really good quality gear. You could also get you a rack started because if you want to get back into the game, you're going to be tempted to buy even more gear.

2 hours ago, tropton13 said:

Hey LTT Forum,