Does programming require a good CPU?

Surpuppa

Does programming benefit from a better CPU? For example an i7 vs an i5?

I have no experience programming but I will start soon so I'm planning my next build. (Waiting for Ryzen though)

The speed it's compiled will be different depending on the CPU. If you're going to be creating huge programs then a more powerful CPU will make a noticeable difference. If you're just dabbling then it doesn't matter. 

Make sure to quote or tag me (@JoostinOnline) or I won't see your response!

PSU Tier List  |  The Real Reason Delidding Improves Temperatures"2K" does not mean 2560×1440 

12 minutes ago, Surpuppa said:

I have no experience programming but I will start soon so I'm planning my next build. (Waiting for Ryzen though)

If you're working on huge projects (thousands of lines of code or larger) than an i7 would be better. Absolutely better.

Judge a product on its own merits AND the company that made it.

How to setup MSI Afterburner OSD | How to make your AMD Radeon GPU more efficient with Radeon Chill | (Probably) Why LMG Merch shipping to the EU is expensive

Oneplus 6 (Early 2023 to present) | HP Envy 15" x360 R7 5700U (Mid 2021 to present) | Steam Deck (Late 2022 to present)

Mid 2023 AlTech Desktop Refresh - AMD R7 5800X (Mid 2023), XFX Radeon RX 6700XT MBA (Mid 2021), MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon (Early 2018), 32GB DDR4-3200 (16GB x2) (Mid 2022

Noctua NH-D15 (Early 2021), Corsair MP510 1.92TB NVMe SSD (Mid 2020), beQuiet Pure Wings 2 140mm x2 & 120mm x1 (Mid 2023),

Even a program with 10 KLOC (kilo lines of code) will compile in probably under 20 seconds, depending on the compiler, its settings and language you are using.

Really, you can start programming on a Raspberry Pi, it doesn't matter. You don't need performance for this. Get a good keyboard and a good (big) monitor for it, that makes over 9000% more sense than more CPU performance :P

33 minutes ago, Organized said: