I'm confused...

Go to solution Solved by Imakuni,
1 hour ago, Firecheetah13 said:

Although, how bad would it really be to leave my computer folding 20-22 hours a day?

You power bill will go up. And the room will be slightly warmer. But that's about as bad as it gets.

How much would this reduce the life of my components? Will it cause wear and tear?

Realistically, the parts will be obsolete and swapped long before they actually break from usage. Don't worry about it, you're not really harming your hardware.

And, the overarching question, is it worth it? I know that LTT is slipping in F@H, and I want to help, but I don't know if it is worth the risk.

If you believe in the cause, then yes, it's worth it. If you don't... well, it's still definitely worth it, though I suppose there's no point support something you don't believe in.

Okay, so I am fairly new to F@H and I only have 2.5m points. I have an rx 470 that I did a slight overclock on for the purpose of F@H (1230->1275MHz) and an i5 6500. I also recently built my pc to note. I have heard a lot of people saying that it should be ok to leave my computer folding on this overclock 24/7 without any problems (my CPU never goes above 61C, my GPU never goes above 56C). Although, how bad would it really be to leave my computer folding 20-22 hours a day? I can get 315k PPD if I have my system on full 24/7, and I only average 170k daily. How much would this reduce the life of my components? Will it cause wear and tear? And, the overarching question, is it worth it? I know that LTT is slipping in F@H, and I want to help, but I don't know if it is worth the risk.

Although, how bad would it really be to leave my computer folding 20-22 hours a day?

You power bill will go up. And the room will be slightly warmer. But that's about as bad as it gets.

How much would this reduce the life of my components? Will it cause wear and tear?