Ambitious Community Newbie builds a thing.

Hello to everyone who finds this thread!

I'm pretty new to this part of the LTT community. I found the channel a few months ago and really enjoyed the presentation and content, and technically joined the forums three months ago, just to jump into a giveaway thing from Razer. I tend to keep closed and quiet personally, but after browsing around, this place seems incredibly friendly and helpful, and I'm hoping to come here as a resource for help, and offer my own advice and experience when and where I can.

With that said, here's what's going on in here:

A bit about me and the current rig.

I feel like I'm at least in or above the "intermediate" skill range when it comes to building and working with computers. I've helped friends part out and put together their rigs, most recently a mini ITX build for my brother in a Fractal Design Node 202. I've been slowly picking and prodding my personal rig, one that I had dubbed "The Adequator". How adequate is the Adequator? Here are the main bits:

Adequator.jpg

• i5-4670k (Stock 3.4GHz)
  • Asus Z87k Motherboard
  • 16BG DDR3
  • Corsair Carbide 300R
  • Asus GTX 660ti OC Asus Strix GTX 1070 OC

Runs off of a 120GB 850 EVO for boot and a 250 for gaming storage, along with a 1TB WD Blue for general storage.

There's a SoundBlaster Zx card in there that was bought long before I found the NCIX video telling me not to buy the thing.

I've got a stock cooler keeping a non-overclocked unlocked processor cool and tidy. (I'm still not personally confident enough yet in understanding everything I'd need to know about overclocking.)

I bought 4 LED Corsair fans to compliment the three others in the case to provide ample cooling around all of the components and "cable management". Many random LEDs = Super Gamer Extreme.

A few years ago I bent the top ventilation grill trying to wedge my old DVD drive onto the top 5.25" bay, eventually failed and installed it lower. Still salty about that.