DIY NZXT hue+ are you interested?

dany_boy

Would you like a tutorial on how to build your own mood lighting set (similar to NZXT hue+) for about 20 bucks? The whole build would take about 1 hour for anyone who is mildly familiar to soldering and programming, and about 2 for complete noobs. The whole thing is for a first semester university project which I decided to expand. Obviously it has limited functionality when compared to an actual hue+, but it works nicely either way. I also developed a simple to use app that does everything automatically (no special knowledge required). The whole thing is based around and arduino and the WS2812 LEDS. Here are some pics of my current work: (up to about 500 LEDS can be controlled, I am only showing 5 for testing)

app demo.png

File_000.jpeg

I will gladly answer any questions you may have, and if you are interested I will keep refining the code and work on the tutorial.

Cheers

Quote or tag if you want me to answer! PM me if you are in a real hurry!

Why do Java developers wear glasses? Because they can't C#!

My Machines:

The Gaming Rig:

Spoiler

-Processor: i5 6600k @4.6GHz

-Graphics: GTX1060 6GB G1 Gaming

-RAM: 2x8GB HyperX DDR4 2133MHz

-Motherboard: Asus Z170-A

-Cooler: Corsair H100i

-PSU: EVGA 650W 80+bronze

-AOC 1080p ultrawide

My good old laptop:

Spoiler

Lenovo T430

-Processor: i7 3520M

-4GB DDR3 1600MHz

-Graphics: intel iGPU :(

-Not even 1080p

I would, I think it would be awesome. I am also interested in doing this for external lighting. I have a Hue+, but I also have 25 Ft of external lighting that I would love better control over. Maybe I could bridge this to do something like that. I just need to be able to set the RGB values from my computer. Something that I would be interested in would be Music/Sound reactive lighting.

I am very inexperienced with this stuff, so I would need your direction.

Anyway, back to you: