Dual boot pros/cons? Is it necessary for me? Learn programming

First off, I'd like to apologize if I've posted this in the wrong category; I figured it would either be programming or operating systems and that the latter was more appropriate. Anyways, I would like to start learning how to program, and was just wondering if dual booting a form of Linux with windows 10 is something I should be considering? I'm a computer engineering student (atm, I've also been thinking about software), so I routinely use CAD programs, Maple, etc. Do I need to work with a Linux based platform in order to learn programming? Is Dual booting the best route? What are virtualmachines? Essentially, I'm looking for a beginners guide to getting started with experimenting with Linux, if I need to and how I should go about it if I do. I wouldn't be using my main rig, I would dual boot my new laptop (Lenovo y700 i5 model). I'd love to hear anybody's' thoughts on what I should do

I personally use OSX for programming and I think it's better for programming than windows, since you have the terminal and i use that alot, windows recently added support for bash but idk how good that works..

I'd go with dualbooting, since linux dual boot is pretty easy (in the installer it asks if you want to install it and keep windows (dual booting))

Whee. I just wrote a reply to someone else who was interested in learning linux. You can find it here ;)

Read the whole thread too, it's pretty interesting.

16 hours ago, fireclawx said:

Whee. I just wrote a reply to someone else who was interested in learning linux. You can find it here ;)

Read the whole thread too, it's pretty interesting.