Adventure of my first build

Chameleon

First off, the final pictures and build will be at the end of the post. The computer is built and I'm actually posting from it, but I want to show the pictures and progress I had along the way xD Also I hope I'm not violated any roles by posting any outside links/pictures.

One more thing, this post is strangely formatted when it comes to new line/carriage returns o.O They seem a bit.....excessive. I wonder how it'll behave if I posted from a unix box o.O Very curious.

Introduction

I have always been a software person(Programmer), and I've never actually fiddled around with hardware before this.

Phase one - Learning and selecting parts

I started off just looking for parts and was rather ignorant as to how to go about it so I started off asking for help and researching on forums I was familiar with. Giving them a budget and an idea of what my usage would be like. So then they started giving me build ideas and I started learning how to put things together as well as what I needed in my build. This is actually how I discovered Linus and this awesome community ^^

Eventually I realised that the computer would mean a lot more to me to build for my first time if I had picked all the parts myself. So armed with the bare essential knowledge and many reviews I ventured off onto pcpartpicker, newegg, and ncix to pick the parts myself.

Here is the INITIAL build I threw together(I picked things in this order more or less)

Processor - i7-3770k

Motherboard - ASRock Z77 Extreme4

GPU - Radeon HD 7970

RAM - GSkill Ripjaw 16GB(4x4GB) (This is a point I wish I had gone with 2x8GB in hindsight since I kind of limited my upgradability xD, now I will have to buy 4x8GB ram sticks if I ever wanted to upgrade)

Heatsink - Hyper 212 EVO

Mechanical Storage - 2x1TB 7200RPM Seagate barracudas

SSD - Intel 330 120GB SSD

PSU - Silverstone strider essential series 600W

Sound - Xonar DS 24 bit 192KHz