Z77 board recommendations

Hey guys,

I know that there are TONS of mobos to choose from, just from the Z77 chipset alone. I was hoping you guys can recommend a few for me. I am currently using a Asus mobo and it is proving to be pretty reliable for the most part, aside from its weak RAM compatibility. (Asus P7P55D-E) I am currently looking to upgrade to the 3770k so I need a Z77 board. Anyhow, I do prefer Asus due to its "MemOK" feature, it quickly tells me whether my RAM is compatible. Also, I am looking to buy the Thunderbolt display from Apple, nothing special about it, it is just gorgeous (all the other displays out there cannot beat it, it is just that good looking), so I need a thunderbolt port on the mobo as well.

Some of my needs:

- USB 3.0 (most boards have this anyway, shouldn't be an issue)

- Thunderbolt

- Easy overclocking abilities (i am not very good at overclocking, I currently use Asus's auto-overclock utility...yes...iknow i can push it further...but i don't know how...)

- Easy RAM compatibility checking abilities

- SLI support

- PCI-E 3.0

- At least 6 6gb/s SATA ports (I currently have 5 drives, 2 ssds and 3 hard drives)

- RAID support (most boards have this)

- Additional soundcard

That's it so far... THANKS PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

Just to verify - you really need 6 x SATA3 connectors? your normal hard drives cannot even really benefit from them and going that many puts you in the range of uber boards, esp wanting thunderbolt support... Talking $350-$400 for a quality board... some that come to mind...

13-157-322-TS?$S125$

(27)

Compare

ASROCK Z77 Extreme 9

ASUS Maximus V Formula's...

ASUS Maximus V Extreme...

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7

Forum Links - Community Standards, Privacy Policy, FAQ, Features Suggestions, Bug and Issues.