[Canon EOS] Can someone explain this?

Indus Monk

I bought a EOS 1200D, Everyone had suggested me the "NIKON D5300"; But my uncle (who was a photographer for the Indian army for 40 years) told me to go for canon. Was buying a 1200D a bad idea? Should i have waited a little longer and gone for a EOS 700D or a Nikon Equivalent? Also, What are the differences between two canon DLSR Bodies? What are the technical factors that make one DSLR body better than the other (i know a thing or two about lenses and i don't think lens is that much of a factor)?

I am still a noob though and these are what i consider as my best shots:

IMG_1037.thumb.JPG.f894fddadd1f274a5df9e

IMG_1038.thumb.JPG.1559b212c6eff07be0ff3IMG_1114.thumb.JPG.28a3fed2992ec29d843e8

tell me how i can improve without spending any money...

Indus Monk = Indian+ Buddhist

1 minute ago, AmbarChakrabarti said:

(i know a thing or two about lenses and i don't think lens is that much of a factor)?

I am a pretty noob when it Comes to cameras, but I am pretty sure they are a huge factor

CPU: Xeon 1230v3 - GPU: GTX 770  - SSD: 120GB 840 Evo - HDD: WD Blue 1TB - RAM: Ballistix 8GB - Case: CM N400 - PSU: CX 600M - Cooling: Cooler Master 212 Evo

Update Plans: Mini ITX this bitch

Just now, C0LL0SS0S said:

I am a pretty noob when it Comes to cameras, but I am pretty sure they are a huge factor

i think someone may disapprove of that... but still, i can be wrong

With my knowledge of camera's this is my method of thinking of them all:

Does the picture look cool > It's good

CPU: i5 4670k @ 3.4GHz + Corsair H100i      GPU: Gigabyte GTX 680 SOC (+215 Core|+162 Mem)     SSD: Kingston V300 240GB (OS)      Headset: Logitech G930 

Case: Cosair Vengance C70 (white)                RAM: 16GB TeamGroup Elite Black DDR3 1600MHz       HDD: 1TB WD Blue                              Mouse: Logitech G602