144hz Monitor without G-sync vs 144hz Monitor with G-sync

nsprinkle11
Go to solution Solved by BrightCandle,

My previous monitor was a Benq XL2411T which is a 1080p@144phz lightboost 2 monitor and currently I use a PG279Q which is 1440p@165hz gsync monitor.

Last year I also owned a PG278Q (1440p@144p) and had a lot of problems with repeated monitors and I ended up using my Benq a lot. So I have been using high refresh rate monitors for about 3 years now and gsync for a little over a year.

My experience tells me that gsync is kind of great, the image just feels solid and fluid and the frame rate matters a whole lot less. But playing BF4 at 100fps or so I don't notice a massive difference. There is definitely still a difference but where I really notice it is in the 30-60 range of fps where on a gsync monitor it remains smooth, its not good because its still a low frame rate but its consistent in a way you aren't used to without gsync being there. So if I was to sum up my thoughts I would tell you gsync just makes everything smoother, but >100hz will do that too but you'll be vsync off and that will impact on the image quality, you wont have that solid and lack of stutter feeling you get with gsync.

Personally I can live without gsync sort of, but I wouldn't want to. There is no way I am ever gaming at 60hz again but gsync I could live without, but I think its worth its asking price.

Hey everyone!

I have a few quick questions about high refresh rate monitors. I am generally looking for responses from people who have actually used both types of monitors so I can have a better idea of the difference in real life. I say this because I know plenty about what G-sync does on paper and what 144hz means on paper but I have never seen either of these in person so I don't exactly know the difference it makes.

My questions are how much of a difference does G-sync make at 144hz?

What if you can run the game at much higher than 144 fps? Does G-sync help then?