[GUIDE] Getting Started with Viruses, Antivirus, and Best Practices!

Getting Started with Viruses, Antivirus, and Best Practices!

This guide is NOT PERFECT. It is shorter than it can or should be. But hopefully people will find this while searching our forum, and it will be of help.
I was a PC technician for several years, and currently do freelance computer work in addition to my normal Job.
The programs listed were used on a day to day basis, where 50% of my work was doing virus removals. 

Bleepingcomputer is a lifesaver when it comes to Malware:

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/t/407147/answers-to-common-security-questions-best-practices/

Another LTT Guide from @ttam on the actual removal of malware:

http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/90213-malware-removal-guide/

Virus, Malware, Spyware, Adware.... what does it all mean?

• Malware is the term used to describe any kind of unwanted program, code, etc. that is running on your computer. A Virus, is a specific kind of malware, that is designed to replicate onto as many computers as possible. BUT, most programs are now called "Anti-Virus" because the term is "popular". 

• Spyware and Adware are another specific type of malware – these little guys cause popups, ads, etc.

• There are many other forms of malware – best to look up the “name” you hear in to your favorite search engine, and undoubtedly you will get a good Wiki article on the matter!

What is “antivirus”, and why do I need it?

• Antivirus, antimalware, antispyware are softwares designed to detect and remove known viruses/malware/adware etc.

• AV software will help detect and prevent - and in the case of an infection, may help you remove the bug.