Acer B6 B326HK or ASUS PB Series PB278Q ?

nignog

So I suppose I'll get straight to the point. I am a music producer and have a home studio. I have 2x 900p monitors and a 1080p in the center. I need to get rid of the side monitors so I can put my speakers in their place, however a single 1080p panel will never, ever be enough real estate for my work. I'm looking to get a nice center piece monitor and probably find a way to mount another monitor (probably my current 1080p) above my new centerpiece. Now the question is, which monitor? 80% of the time I do music production work and video/photo editing. The other 20% of the time I play video games. I'm not so sure which would suit my needs better. I'd love the real estate the 4k monitor gives me, but I've read both good and worryingly bad reviews about it. Plus, is 4k even reliable technology at this point? The PB278Q, I've heard great things about and it's withstood the test of time, but I'm not so sure if the 1440p real estate will be enough for me. I'd love as much advice/input as you guys could give me on this decision. Thanks!

EDIT: Oh, I suppose I should add the fact that I'm on a Reference GTX 980 as well.

As someone who's never used a 1440p panel, would you guys say it's a noticeable upgrade from 1080p? I'm just super worried about the real estate.. haha.. I always run out of room working.

As someone who's never used a 1440p panel, would you guys say it's a noticeable upgrade from 1080p? I'm just super worried about the real estate.. haha.. I always run out of room working.

Basically just imagine your 1080p monitor stretched another 33% up and right. 1080p is 3/4 of 1440p vertically and horizontally. It's a fair sized increase, but the gap between that and 4K is much more larger.