How to actually become a professional programmer???

BustinJustin

I graduated with a BS in Computer Information Systems in May 2012. I really didn't know much about computers until I started the university in 2007. I like to think that I'm a pretty good programmer, I may get stumped on syntax now and then, but logic is kinda my thing. I took courses in C#, Visual Basic, Java, and COBOL. I was on the first place Arkansas State Collegiate Programming COBOL Division team.

But I still don't feel that I can become a professional programmer. I love programming even more than I love computer hardware.

I don't know if anyone here is a programmer of any particularly high caliber, but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

If it can mean anything to anybody at any time, it means nothing.

I've been in the games industry as a tools programmer for about 6 years. If you really love programming all you need to do is just immerse yourself and learn as much as you can. Side/personal projects are a good way to keep your skills sharp and can make good examples of what your capable of to potential employers. Really the big thing is you need to find what type of programming you want to do and focus on that. Find out what tools/languages/apps are the best in that field and learn them inside and out. Hope that helps.

Get a job with an industry giant such as HP, Cisco, Sun, IBM, Apple, Google. You are a recent graduate so getting into an entry level programming job won't require you to have a portfolio, but it will require you to pass their tests. Most technical jobs have tests to see how fast you can problem solve.

I have often toyed with the idea of quitting grad school and applying to work for a company like Wolfram or Matheworks.

I have a 2019 macbook pro with 64gb of ram and my gaming pc has been in the closet since 2018