Network Noob Here:

Sherako

So I got Optimum online and they are saying that they are giving me 30MB/s DL 15 MB/s UL. I'm getting (WIRED) 1/3 of that. I have a E4200. The E4200 can apparantly output 400 MB/s. When can I get this. What ISP should I switch to?

I trip to make the fall shorter

Look back to your contract/terms of use and take a look at the minimum speeds. It is only "up to" a certain speed. For example, I have AT&T, and my speeds can get as low as 3MB/s and I can't say shit about it.

If it is indeed lower, than you can go fight with Optimum and ask for compensation or to abort your contract (if you have one).

I didn't get my internet service for 2 weeks, and I managed to get $35 and a free modem as a compensation which isn't too bad.

ISPs always finds a way to rip you off. 

And to answer your question, I don't know. What kind of providers are there in your area? 

#SAMSUNG  "provided us 4 1tb ssds so we could run the whole site off solid state." - LinusTech

#GALAXY

#ATIV

So I got Optimum online and they are saying that they are giving me 30MB/s DL 15 MB/s UL. I'm getting (WIRED) 1/3 of that. I have a E4200. The E4200 can apparantly output 400 MB/s. When can I get this. What ISP should I switch to?

Network speeds are almost always listed as UP TO, because guaranteed speeds leave them with 2 issues:

1. If they don't meet that speed, then the consumer would not be obligated to pay (like a leased line)
  2. The only way to GUARANTEE any given speed, is with a leased line, and they are incredibly expensive

"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic" - Arthur C. Clarke
Just because it may seem like magic, I'm not a wizard, just a nerd. I am fallible. 

Use the quote button or @<username> to reply to people | Mark solved troubleshooting topics as such, selecting the correct answer, and follow them to get replies!

Community Standards | Guides & Tutorials Troubleshooting Section

• 2 weeks later...