[TPU] SilverStone Tundra TD04 "Pump-less" Liquid CPU Cooler

Accursed Entity

From TechPowerUp article: "SilverStone Shows off Tundra TD04 "Pump-less" Liquid CPU Cooler"

Among the swarm of all-in-one liquid CPU cooling solutions SilverStone, the one that stood out is its Tundra TD04. It's what the company claims is a "pump-less" liquid CPU cooler. It features a high-performance CPU water block that looks more like the DIY blocks you'd find in expensive liquid cooling setups; plumbed directly to the 240 x 120 mm radiator+reservoir assembly. We're not quite sure how circulation happens, or whether it's convectional of some sort. SilverStone claims the cooler can handle thermal loads of up to 200W.

Image:

98a.jpg

Ok, this got my curiosity, I had to share it with you guys. I wonder how exactly will this work, I'm not an expert in this area so forgive me if there's a simple answer to that. I guess the heat will drive the circulation somehow? This have been done before? Please share your opinion and/or your insight of how this might work.

●CPU: i7-4790K w/H100i ●Mobo: MSI Z97 MPower ●RAM: Corsair 16GB Dominator ●GPU: EVGA ACX SC 780 3GB(X2) ●SSD: 850 Pro 256GB ●Case: 450D ●PSU: AX 860i ●Monitor: Asus PB278Q 1440p

so it kinda works like a traditional heat sink with heat pipes where the heat makes the liquid in the pipes rise up to the top where the fans will be cooling the fins?

I don't know how that would work with so much more liquid in the tubes compared to a heat pipe but i guess if there selling it its gotta work :S

so it kinda works like a traditional heat sink with heat pipes where the heat makes the liquid in the pipes rise up to the top where the fans will be cooling the fins?

I don't know how that would work with so much more liquid in the tubes compared to a heat pipe but i guess if there selling it its gotta work :S

Yeah, that's my thought as well, I'm intrigued... I'd love to see how it performs in real-world usage.