A short folding story

Hello, I started back when Covid first really got bad in the United States. I was watching an LTT video and I saw the call out for folding and I remembered years ago being involved with the initial effort in late 2000 early 2001. So I thought to myself sure I can donate some spare computer cycles. But much had changed in my life during the 20 years of the folding project existing, now I was a senior staff engineer for my company making good money and swimming in spare hardware. So I tried to toss an entire C7000 HPE Cluster at it with 14 BL460c blades and 28 Intel Xeon E5-2690v4 CPU's (784 threads @2.6GHZ). About the time I got the whole thing setup I realized getting a workload for a CPU was... just not going to happen. CPU workloads were all gobbled up, the hypervisor was having a bad day trying to pipe all of the queues at once which were all just waiting around, the power was expensive at 15,900 watts peak, and in the first month I think I had like 11 work units. So I abandoned that project and went about just using a tiny desktop I had that was a little power house I used in a side gig since it had a video card in it and those could at least get a work unit assigned.