Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
BourbonOrBust

Is the Apogee XT outdated?

Posted · Original PosterOP

I recently revisited overclocking my cpu and that's got me thinking...

I've been rocking a Swiftek Apogee XT for 6 years now. Is it possible that cpu waterblocks have gotten way better in the 10 years since mine launched?

It has a "pin matrix" design versus the more popular channels, but of similar dimension. Other than that it seems more or less identical to the top blocks on the market.

I can't find a showdown that reaches that far back, but this one here is showing 4C differences between the best and worse performers and that's pretty compelling imo http://thermalbench.com/2016/12/02/alphacool-eisblock-xpx-cpu-waterblock/5/

This block has cooled 3 different CPUs for me and been cleaned and re-pasted each time.

Has anyone upgraded from this block and seen significant improvement in temps?

38 minutes ago, BourbonOrBust said:

I recently revisited overclocking my cpu and that's got me thinking...

I've been rocking a Swiftek Apogee XT for 6 years now. Is it possible that cpu waterblocks have gotten way better in the 10 years since mine launched?

It has a "pin matrix" design versus the more popular channels, but of similar dimension. Other than that it seems more or less identical to the top blocks on the market.

I can't find a showdown that reaches that far back, but this one here is showing 4C differences between the best and worse performers and that's pretty compelling imo http://thermalbench.com/2016/12/02/alphacool-eisblock-xpx-cpu-waterblock/5/

This block has cooled 3 different CPUs for me and been cleaned and re-pasted each time.

Has anyone upgraded from this block and seen significant improvement in temps?

Basically it's more about optimization for a given platform than about outright gainz these days.