MacBook Pro 16" vs New Dell XPS 15" (or a budget laptop and gaming desktop)

MarkYork

Hello everyone,

I'm currently looking for a new computer for work and gaming (occasionally). I am about to loose my job and I will have to return the laptop that I've been using for the past 2 years. I don't have another computer (only some old desktop computers I use for playing old games) so I need to get a new one. My dream is to have a heavy weight desktop computer, with the latest and greatest gaming GPU (like the RTX 3090), a multicore CPU for code compilation and video editing, lots of storage and a big display. At the same time I need a mobile computer, one which I can take with me and work somewhere else without loosing too much  horsepower. The ideal situation would be to build a desktop computer and have a laptop, but I don't think I will be able to afford both of them. So I started looking for a laptop computer with a comfortable keyboard, a display where I can edit videos or Photoshop, a good amount of CPU cores, a somewhat gaming GPU and good battery life. I came to the conclusion that the new Dell XPS 15" is one of my best choices, but the MacBook Pro 16" is very competitive in terms of horsepower. I like macOS better than Windows 10 for my day to day operations, and I think I will get better gaming performance than the Dell XPS on bootcamp, but I am a bit concerned about thermal throttling. I've watched some of Linus' videos were he talks about MacBook Pro's thermal throttling, but I believe they were done with older versions of the MacBook Pro.

Does anyone have any experience with the MacBook Pro 16 2020 edition? I need some advice.

One more thing to add, I would appreciate to have a higher refresh rate display, like the Razer Blade 15. I guess this is something I will have to forget about on this types of laptops.

Bad time buying a mac, you should wait for the ARM Apple version, as it will be supported longer.