Problems installing Windows 10 to NVME Drives

Evis03

Hello all,

I'm having some issues installing Windows 10 onto an NVME drive in my new build. I've never worked with NVME before so hopefully it's something simple.

For the first stage of my build I used a Z490 asus Tuf gaming plus WIFI. Soon realised it wasn't going to deliver the overclokcing I wanted so I swapped it out for a Maximus VII Hero. At this point I'd been able to set up the NVME drive on the TUF board as my windows drive without a problem.

I move everything over to the Maximus VII Hero.
(other bits: 10850K, 16gb RAM, RTX 2080 super waterforce, 1000 watt PSU (long story), NVME is an adata XPG 1TB)

The windows boot from the NVME doesn't work. No problem, swapping motherboards can cause that so I try to format the drive and reinstall windows from a USB drive, created from the download tool that day (anything of any importance has been long since backed up). After restarts and extensive goolging I've still not solved the issue, which manifests thusly:

BIOS seems to recognise the card fine. BIOS tests on the card pass.

Booting from the install drive the windows installer can see the NVME drive, but always shows it as 2048 GB (It was a a 1 TB drive).

Plethora of error messages as to why windows can't install on the drive (and seemingly can't format it, delete it, new partition- all greyed out):

Windows cannot be installed to this disk. The selected disk has an MBR partition table. On EFI systems, Windows can only be installed to GPT disks.

Windows cannot be installed to this hard disk space. Windows must be installed to a partition formatted as NTFS.

Windows cannot be installed to this hard disk space. The partition is of an unrecognised type.

Gooling around leads to the idea I need to convert the disk to GPT. Diskpart, clean, convert gpt, refresh the list in the windows installer aaaaand... no different.

Other suggestions are that the disk should be GPT anyway.