New Headset

Coopermar

Hey everyone!

I have been using my astro a40s for almost 6 years now! I got them around Christmas 2014 and they have been pretty great. Aside from a few inline mute cable fails, they've performed perfectly. Yesterday, I finally found a reason to upgrade: I dropped them. This wasn't the first time, they've been pretty durable, but the head cushion broke off an took some plastic with it. Basically, these headphones have performed much longer than they really should have and I think it's time to upgrade. I have been looking around and am unsure what to buy. The a40s are all I've know my entire "gaming" life, so I don't really know what I've been taking for granted/missing out on. I am considering the G Pro X Wired and the newer Gen 4 Astro A40 TR. I think my original mixamp should still work with the new A40s, so that's a plus(I don't have to spend the extra $100 on the new mixamp). What are your opinions on the two? Are there any headsets worth considering that I didn't mention? Any feedback is helpful. Thanks!

Just now, Slottr said:

Is this for your pc?

Yes, sorry I didn't include these answers in the original post, they seem like obvious things I should have included.

1 minute ago, Coopermar said:

Yes, sorry I didn't include these answers in the original post, they seem like obvious things I should have included.

If you can afford it, I'd go for a pair of DT770's or K371's with either a Blue Snowball (or other decent USB desk mic) or a Modmic.

Community Standards || Tech News Posting Guidelines

---======================================================================---

CPU: R5 3600 || GPU: RTX 3070|| Memory: 32GB @ 3200 || Cooler: Scythe Big Shuriken || PSU: 650W EVGA GM || Case: NR200P

1 minute ago, Slottr said:

If you can afford it, I'd go for a pair of DT770's or K371's with either a Blue Snowball (or other decent USB desk mic) or a Modmic.