K7XX + Scarlett Solo: Do I need an AMP?

PorkishPig
Go to solution Solved by rice guru,
30 minutes ago, PorkishPig said:

That's where my confusion comes in, the Solo is perfectly audible at 100% and the audio quality is decent AFAIK -- no immediately noticeable distortion. I'm not entirely sure that I am sacrificing audio quality by having the Solo at 100%.

you should be fine if you dont hear any distortion. distortion usually happens when it is loud and at the amps upper limits. having an amp that doesn't drive your headphones ;oudly and with a bit of headroom you are sacrificing abit of your headphon'es true potential cause an amp that has reliable clean power can do a decent amount to a headphone to bring out it's true potential. the akg k7xx isn't exact;y a headphone that really requires an amp to reach it's true potential but Im sure you yourself will benefit more by having more volume available to you as it seems quite regardless

I'm fairly new to the audiophile game. After I purchased my AKG K7XX (62Ω, same as K702) I have been struggling with a question that I cannot get a consistent answer on: Do I need a dedicated AMP?

I currently have a Scarlett Solo 2nd Gen (200Ω output Impedance) that I use with my Audio-Technica AT2035 microphone, along with my K7XX plugged directly into the 1/4 output. It sounds "fine" to me, but I feel like I may be missing out on better audio quality -- mainly based on the fact that I think my 24-bit FLAC library sounds about the same as Spotify's 320kbps.

I have the volume knob of the Solo cracked to 100%, 28% within Windows. Audio is extremely quiet if I have the Solo anywhere except 100%. I’ve scoured dozens of forum threads and came to mostly the same conclusion that the AMP in the Solo (same AMP as 2i2) is weak.

I’ve considered the following configurations:

• Do Nothing - Continue to use the Solo as both an AMP and a DAC
  • Purchase a Schiit Magni 3 as a AMP - Use the Solo as an DAC, connect via RCA