3D animation workstation laptop recommendations (upgrading from an old-ish desktop)

Looking to upgrade my current desktop (i7 3770k, 16GB ram, and a 1050ti) with a laptop. I'd imagine at this stage, even the mobile 9th or 10th i7 would be a significant upgrage from my very old 3700k.

I am a 3D animator using 3D software such as Maya. I'd be doing a lot of CPU heavy realtime play back of my animation. And not so much on the rendering side so I'd be happy to compromise slightly on graphics card performance. Budget wise im looking up to £1600 ($2000 USD). I prefer low profile rather than the gamer-y look. I'd be mostly using it with a 1440p ultra-wide + a 4k screen

I had my eye on the Lenovo Legion 7i with an i7 10750H, but the performance of the ryzen 4800H processor has put me off intel.

What do you think? :)

I've been liking the look of MSI's latest creator series. They seem to have good power and accurate screens, but they are pretty expensive. Also they are pretty sleek, no RGB on the outside (although I think the keyboard has RGB, not sure)

R9 3900x, 32gb 3200mhz corsair dominator RGB, 1070Ti Founders Edition, HP 512GB PCIe M.2 SSD

2 minutes ago, Ninoid said:

Looking to upgrade my current desktop (i7 3770k, 16GB ram, and a 1050ti) with a laptop. I'd imagine at this stage, even the mobile 9th or 10th i7 would be a significant upgrage from my very old 3700k.

I am a 3D animator using 3D software such as Maya. I'd be doing a lot of CPU heavy realtime play back of my animation. And not so much on the rendering side so I'd be happy to compromise slightly on graphics card performance. Budget wise im looking up to £1600 ($2000 USD). I prefer low profile rather than the gamer-y look. I'd be mostly using it with a 1440p ultra-wide + a 4k screen

I had my eye on the Lenovo Legion 7i with an i7 10750H, but the performance of the ryzen 4800H processor has put me off intel.