Dell G7 17 7700 Any Good?

Hi all,

This is one of those laptops that I can't seem to find much coverage of but I really like its design. Essentially, I'm on the market for something to replace my Clevo laptop which I've been using for about 9 months and don't really like very much. I'm planning to build a desktop for 4K video editing in November/December and this would be supplemental to that. I mostly need something for general use I can take around with me but every so often during busy periods, I do need a bit of power to get some editing work done when I'm away from my desktop. There's a config I can get fairly cheap that's a 10750H and 1660Ti which is essentially the same as my current laptop (9750H + 1660Ti) but the build quality and battery life should be a lot better.

I'm worried about thermals and the display quality, though. Obviously the display doesn't need to be fantastic as I've budgeted for a good external monitor for my desktop setup (still choosing on that so any recommendations welcome there!) but reasonably accurate with fair contrast would be good just for rough editing proofs as well as watching content. The other options I was looking at were the Aftershock Apex 17R Lite (RP-17 but for the Australian market though it only has the smaller battery for the foreseeable future unfortunately) and the Aero 17. Both would be more expensive than I could find the G7 for at the moment. The Apex by about $200 and the Aero by about $1400 but they're both 8-core + 2060.

Worth a look or should I hang on to my Clevo for a little while longer? The plan is to sell it once I've got my new laptop and am happy with it to offset the cost a bit fingers crossed!

Avoid Dell G line for now

What's your budget?

Desktop specs:

Spoiler

AMD Ryzen 5 5600 Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120 SE ARGB Gigabyte B550M DS3H mATX

Asrock Challenger Pro OC Radeon RX 6700 XT Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (8Gx2) 3600MHz CL18 Kingston NV2 1TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD