How do you limit a 12VDC Molex circuit to 9A?

I'm planning on doing a PC mod soon, and one of the requests from the client is to include a functional car cigarette lighter (it will be for cigarette smoking, unfortunately...I tried to tell him it's a bad idea, but he's paying me to do it anyway).

I'm a noob to electronics. I know I can wire a 10 amp ATC fuse in series with the +12VDC leg in series to the back of the lighter socket, but what if I wanted to prevent the lighter from ever drawing more than 9 amps? It will still work, albeit the lighter will heat up slower than it maybe wants to.

I don't want the fuse to blow, only as a last resort. It will be very hard to get to, and I don't want the fuse to pop and melt other things in the process, or send shrapnel everywhere. I don't want to use a breaker because they're too slow, and only a few have a chrome dipswitch like P&B's (this is an aesthetic requirement).

Interested to know how the circuit would look. I don't know how to calculate resistors or find parts, really. I need help.

I just don't want this thing to start on fire or ruin itself.

Intel i7 8700k | Asus ROG Strix Z370-I | NVidia RTX 2070 Super Reference | Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 3600MHz x 32GB | Samsung 970 Evo 500GB NVMe | Samsung QVO 1TB SSD | Custom Loop | Corsair RMx 850w Gold | Phanteks Evolv iTX TG (modded) | Acer Predator XB1

A molex connector is only rated for 5A.

At 9A, you may melt the housing of the molex connector.

Technically you could boost 5v @ 5A = 25w to 12v and add that to your 12v 5A , for a total of around 7A and that's about it.

The simplest way would be to use a dc-dc converter with configurable current limit.

If you want to do it with "basic building blocks" you'd start by using a very low value resistor to measure the current by reading the voltage drop on resistor then maybe use that to control a pass transistor or mosfet to limit current / drop voltage when current goes too high.