Help Building a NAS Server

VMBRA_

OK I am new at building my own NAS, basically, so far what I have is a 4TB (2x2TB) Synology DS218 and I am planning on Building something far Solid and with more capacity, as for Plex it cant handle more than 720p encoding, and I find it "slow", and If I want to stream like 2K video or 4k even I will need more capacity.

So... My plan. Build a FreeNAS or Unraid Server.

The Usage. Plex Encoding, Storage of my premiere videos, storage of a few folders and maaaaybe Windows ISO's so I can do some windows Installs over the network.

My Issues (Besides never had one built): 

1 - The Ideal Specs - I read Intel processor can encode video and basically not needing a GPU. Sooo... should I go with an E Series Processor and it's fine, or Should I go with something like an i3?
 - If Igo the AMD Route will a 1550 or even a 1050 do the job?

2 - How Much RAM would I need, and the maximum frequency of it. Does Latency matter in a NAS environment?

3 - Planning on using an ITX Motherboard (for now). Should I forget about it or is it good for the moment?

ANY advice is welcome. 

1 hour ago, VMBRA_ said:

The Ideal Specs - I read Intel processor can encode video and basically not needing a GPU.

You can use quicksync on some intel chips with igpus, this does need plex pass.

How many transcodes and what res do you need? For most home uses, you don't need that much transcoding power.

1 hour ago, VMBRA_ said:

2 - How Much RAM would I need, and the maximum frequency of it. Does Latency matter in a NAS environment?

Id probably go 16gb here, pretty cheap over 8gb, and more doesn't hurt. But your don't need that much.

Id probably go i3 10100 here if you can get it cheap, reasonable cpu power, quicksync if you need it, and igpu so you still have a pcie slot free for other stuff.

On 8/30/2020 at 9:20 PM, Electronics Wizardy said:

You can use quicksync on some intel chips with igpus, this does need plex pass.