5 Times The Price, UPS Form Factor

David Ball

My goal was to grab one of those half height server racks, just to try to consolidate most of this junk I have spread around the room. I have seriously 3 towers lined end to end, a Mandrake laptop, a Gentoo laptop, a Windows 10 2-in-1, a MacBook Pro, an Xbox One, a surveillance NVR, tablets, phones, a network switch, a mesh router with two Internet backhauls: a sat. Internet modem, an LTE phone connected via an LTE booster. And another mesh router on the other end of the house, Ethernet on the backhaul. It's honestly feeling a little bit crowded. (Where I live there are more trees than people. Finding Internet is like a quest. My use case is I'm a software developer looking for options to mimic the behavior of a cloud in my local environment, so that I can move it to the cloud later. Remote terminals are tricky to use, but a CI/CD, both locally (dev) and remotely (production) seems like the best route for me to go.)

I'd like to build a storage box with nothing but storage, probably using FreeNAS/TrueNAS Z-RAID; preferably with nothing but SSDs, but maybe hard drives for the storage and SSDs for the cache and logs. Tons of storage isn't nearly as important as speed, but I will need a lot of storage though. And I'd like to have at least one compute box, possibly with OpenStack, but with lots of cores. Obviously I would like the storage to be completely on the NAS for both, possibly using iSCSI targets for the boot partition, possibly using NFS for the actual filesystems. And if I want to spin up a VM on my laptop, I'd also like to store it in the NAS rather than using my precious laptop SSDs. And Ceph seems like the next way to go for object storage. But I need it to be highly available, but just for me, and especially not worry about intermittent power conditions, which are sometimes a problem living in a forest. As a power precondition, I will require a UPS of some sort.