Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
ELSknutson

Upgrade CPU or Start over?

Posted · Original PosterOP

I have an intel i7 5820K that is paired with a GTX Titan X(M)  and I am planning on starting my upgrades. The whole system is  hard line water cooled so changing components is kind of a pain. my question is would it be worth just upgrading my CPU to an something like a 5960X or completely Upgrading my motherboard and CPU to something like a Ryzen 9 3900xt.   The issue I am having is I play WoW and for some reason during raid I see dips in my FPS down into the 40-50's and it sucks.  I have been rocking basically the same hardware for about 4-5 years now and it has suited me very well but I cant stand the dips.   (1440p) 

Posted (edited)

you can get a 5960x which should be an upgrade, though HEDT chips even used tend to for a lot afaik. 

wait for zen 3  ( Q3/Q4 of this year supposedly) and then decide which platform you want to move to. as the 5820k should do the job for now. 

Edited by TofuHaroto

Fun Fact: The Meshify c is the best case to ever exist.

Wārudobītā

Spoiler

B550m TuF plus.

Hyper x rgb 8 gig stick. (MJR or CJR  i still don't know lol).

1650 super.

CX450.

MX500.

NX500.

7 minutes ago, ELSknutson said:

The issue I am having is I play WoW and for some reason during raid I see dips in my FPS down into the 40-50's and it sucks.

7 minutes ago, ELSknutson said:

intel i7 5820K that is paired with a GTX Titan X(M)

Honestly, this doesn't sound like a hardware issue to me. A 5820k should be able to handle WoW with no issues. 

As for 5820k->5960x... I highly doubt WoW's ability to scale to more cores. You might actually get WORSE performance from a 5960x simply due to the frequency drop. 

Gaming PC:                                        Streaming PC:

-Ryzen 5 3600x                CPU              -Ryzen 7 2700x  

-2x8GB @ 3200               RAM              -2x8GB @ 3600