Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
DutchGuyTom

Help Overclocking a Ryzen 5 2600X

Posted · Original PosterOP

Hi there!

I could use some help overclocking because, admittedly, I am relatively new to overclocking Ryzen processors. I am using an R5 2600x on an ASRock B450m Steel Legend motherboard. Because this motherboard is not known for its incredible quality, I am not trying to push the limits too much. I have heard that a stable 4.1-4.2 GHz is reasonable to expect but I will be happy if I can get 4.1 or 4.15 GHz. However, despite setting it manually to 4.1 GHz, I can not get it to stay above 4 GHz when under load. 

BIOS settings:

Manual Core Clock: 4.1 GHz

Manual VCore: 1.36 v (technically it is 1.3595)

VID Core: unchanged (Motherboard does not allow me to change this if I chose to manually set the VCore unless I want to do so by offset).

SOC Voltage: 1.0125 v 

Additionally, I have already overclocked my memory a while ago. The DRAM Calculator recommended the SOC Voltage I am using.

Even though I have core clock set to 4.1 GHz, when running Prime95, the multipliers drop down to 39.5 (as reported by HWiNFO64). It will let the cores run at 4.2 GHz when the system is not under load. The temperatures are also fine (about 74 degrees C) and the VCore is reported to be about 1.35 v as I set in the bios. I have not tried dropping these voltages lower but from experimenting in the Ryzen Master utility, I know I should be able to run 4.1 GHz at ~1.32 v).

Can anyone tell me what I can do to stop my core clocks from dropping to 3.95GHz?

Thank you everyone!

Update: after running Prime95 for a little while, the voltages have dropped to fluctuate around 1.313 and the multipliers to 39.3. Everything seems stable. 

Update 2: added screenshot 

image.thumb.png.8c2ad6f456e8f1fdeec9fe7612b67556.png

I should be writing papers...