Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
MCPC_Wolf

Does downloaded Work Unit will be reused if there no slot using it

Recommended Posts

Posted · Original PosterOP

Does downloaded Work Unit will used by other Slot if the original slot that trigger it just deleted

1573512429_HelpMe.png.a4ec2a818d43e5a565ab073a3a3f3153.png

At work queue there are Work Unit ID 0 (Waiting for be used) on the image is that will be used by Folding Slot 0?

Does Work Unit 0 will wait forever until Folding Slot 0 complete processing Work Unit 1?

Link to post
Share on other sites

The work unit is assigned to a slot. Removal of the slot will also delete the work unit. 


Current Build

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/7/2020 at 2:53 PM, MCPC_Wolf said:

Does Work Unit 0 will wait forever until Folding Slot 0 complete processing Work Unit 1?

Aside from what @LazyDev said, every work unit you get assigned has an "Expiration". So if, for whatever reason, a work unit assigned to you isn't completed by that date it will be assigned to someone else. Something like this is essential for a distributed system. You can never be sure a work unit assigned to someone will be completed by them. So at some point you have to assume they won't finish it and reassign it.


Remember to quote or @mention others, so they are notified of your reply

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×