Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Gmail is now flagging auto generated emails from this forum as phishing scams

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited) · Original PosterOP

Ik this isn't really something that anybody here can just fix in an hour, but just let the admins/mods know that this is a thing now, and maybe do a little investigation. I signed up for daily newsletters from the Tech News forum a couple of weeks ago, bc I was really out of touch with tech news for a while and this is one of my ways to get back into the loop. Anyway just a few minutes ago I got a notif from gmail saying new email: LTT digest, I opened it up and would prob read later, but I immediately noticed it had flagged the email, bc apparently users have been reporting emails as phishing scams, and it neutered the email by removing images and links, which makes sense. I'm gonna push "Looks safe" anyway, but maybe the admins should know and be aware that gmail has been flagging the forums email bot as a scam address.  

Screenshot 2020-06-29 at 4.41.16 PM.png

Edited by Nathanpete
Changed to the actual subject line
Link to post
Share on other sites

Time to burn it all down

~New~  BoomBerryPi project !  ~New~

new build log : http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/533392-build-log-the-scrap-simulator-x/?p=7078757 (5 screen flight sim for 620$ CAD)LTT Web Challenge is back ! go here  :  http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/448184-ltt-web-challenge-3-v21/#entry601004

Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, Nathanpete said:

Sent, read the attached message for a bit more context. 

Thanks. It doesn't look like there's anything unusual about that email (it passed all of the authentication checks to make sure it was sent by LTT, and there's no malicious content in there), but my guess is that some of the post snippets from there triggered the filter (possibly the link to support.microsoft.com or the link to the facebook topic that goes to LTT rather than facebook). I've seen similar behaviour with links to PayPal's legitimate support website.


Thanks for reporting, but I don't think there's anything that we can do here - clicking "looks safe" is all that's needed.

HTTP/2 203

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now