Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
zeusthemoose

What to do with old computers

Posted · Original PosterOP

Hi there,

I have 3 really old desktops (core 2 duo and ddr1 and 2 ram) and an old laptop (vista or xp days). I want to do something with them as right now they are just sitting in a closet. Does anyone know of something I could do with them for free or basically free? 

Thanks for any suggestions!

I am far from an expert in this so please correct me if I’m wrong.

Quote or tag me so I can see your response

PSU Tier List

Motherboard Tier List

PARROT GANG

Is there anything you would like to do? Finding a cause for a problem is difficult. You could install different kinds of Linux and learn more about using it.

Posted · Original PosterOP
3 minutes ago, Bitter said:

Is there anything you would like to do?

I want to do something that I can experiment with the software or hardware. it most likely won’t be something I actually use.

I am far from an expert in this so please correct me if I’m wrong.

Quote or tag me so I can see your response

PSU Tier List

Motherboard Tier List

PARROT GANG

25 minutes ago, zeusthemoose said:

I want to do something that I can experiment with the software or hardware. it most likely won’t be something I actually use.

You could learn a little linux, install some kind of linux, setup a simple web server, etc. Might spur your interest into something that becomes useful later on.

Throw Ubuntu netinstall on there, "sudo python -m SimpleHTTPServer <port number eg. 170>", port forward that thing and you should have a easy way to show simple html pages and have a download server. If you don't switch directories it will be a server broadcasting from your home folder.

I've been a Linux addict since October of 2018.

Quote me if you want me to get a notification.