Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
HardStroke

Windows 10 2004 update

Recommended Posts

Posted · Original PosterOP

updated to this version a couple of hours ago

pc runs smooth but i have windows.old folder as if i reinstalled on the drive and kept the old files

can i delete them or should io keep them? its a 13.4GB folder

Link to post
Share on other sites

it's perfectly safe to delete them, but you will no longer be able to rollback to the previous version of windows via recovery options.

 

If you delete the folder, and then you want to rollback, you'll need to perform a clean installation with the desired version of windows.

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

That's meant to help you revert to the previous version of windows.

You can delete it using disk cleanup, but I suggest looking at a good tutorial so that you don't delete something that you actually need.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Original PosterOP
1 minute ago, GoodEnough said:

it's perfectly safe to delete them, but you will no longer be able to rollback to the previous version of windows via recovery options.

 

If you delete the folder, and then you want to rollback, you'll need to perform a clean installation with the desired version of windows.

 

 

 

Just now, lewdicrous said:

That's meant to help you revert to the previous version of windows.

You can delete it using disk cleanup, but I suggest looking at a good tutorial so that you don't delete something that you actually need.

so should i just keep them for now if something goes wrong with the new update?

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, HardStroke said:

so should i just keep them for now if something goes wrong with the new update?

That's up to you, I usually just delete it.

You can keep it for a few days just to see if everything work well, before deleting it.

Link to post
Share on other sites

It will remove itself automatically after 10 days.

 

If you can't wait to get rid of it you should use the cleanup tool to remove "old Windows installations", not delete manually (you probably can't anyway)


F@H
Desktop: i7-5960X 4.4GHz, Noctua NH-D14, ASUS Rampage V, 32GB, RTX2080S, 2TB NVMe SSD, 2x16TB HDD RAID0, Corsair HX1200, Thermaltake Overseer RX1, Samsung 4K curved 49" TV, 23" secondary

Mobile SFF rig: i9-9900K, Noctua NH-L9i, Asrock Z390 Phantom ITX-AC, 32GB, GTX1070, 2x1TB NVMe SSD RAID0, 2x5TB 2.5" HDD RAID0, Athena 500W Flex (Noctua fan), Custom 4.7l 3D printed case

 

Dell XPS 2 in 1 2019, 32GB, 1TB, 4K

 

GPD Win 2

Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Original PosterOP
14 minutes ago, lewdicrous said:

That's up to you, I usually just delete it.

says i cant delete it

any idea why? 

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, HardStroke said:

says i cant delete it

any idea why? 

You need to use disk cleanup. Look for a tutorial online. We don't take responsibility for you losing your data.

Link to post
Share on other sites
34 minutes ago, HardStroke said:

so should i just keep them for now if something goes wrong with the new update?

yes, it will be automatically deleted later, iirc after a month. 


She/Her pls :) 

Phone: iPhone 6s | 64GB iOS

PC: Asus Z370-P | Core i3 8100 R9 290X | 16GB RAM500GB SSD | Silverstone RV03 | Arch Linux / Windows 10

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×