Unity or Unreal?

cookiethecrumb

Hey guys, I am looking forward to making my first real game and i want to make it a top down 2D bullet hell similar to something like Realm Of the Mad God. And i was wondering what engine would be best for this. I want to do it in code because i want to fully understand whats going on. I've made an extremely simple game in game maker (one level, you could move and jump and i was a square with a face lol) and found it fun and want to make an actual full game this time. I have some experience with C++ (not much just done basic functions took a class in college) and unreal seems to be a industry leader in ease of use and capability. So it seemed like an obvious choice however, after researching it, it seems to not have many resources on making 2D games from the community. Is it because unity is better to learn on? I learn primarily from YouTube, so it unity better just for that? Just wanted your guys thoughts on which you would recommend to a first timer looking to make a game and maybe even sell it one day! thanks for any help!

I have personally only used Unity. It's C#, which is a relatively easy language to learn imo. Lots of addons/assets are available for it. The UI isn't too bad or hard to learn, but again, I've never tried Unreal so I can only explain the unity side of things

Current System: Ryzen 7 3700X, Noctua NH L12 Ghost S1 Edition, 32GB DDR4 @ 3200MHz, MAG B550i Gaming Edge, 1TB WD SN550 NVME, SF750, RTX 3080 Founders Edition, Louqe Ghost S1

i have a weird idea of making a diablo-like arpg with low poly style using unity.

why everybody post the spec of their rig here? i dont! cuz its made of mashed potatoes!

11 minutes ago, straight_stewie said:

https://docs.unrealengine.com/en-US/Engine/Paper2D/index.html

If you want to use C++ and need lots of community support, you almost don't have a choice but to use Unreal.

You can use C++ on Unity as well, it's just not out-of-the box supported. Same is for C# on Unreal.