Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
CaptainCapitalism

Remove AMD RAID 0 Configuration and Reinstall Windows

Posted · Original PosterOP

For a few months now, I've had a raid 0 configuration on my computer. I had someone try to fix some of the issues I was having previously, and in the process the guy configures three of my drives into raid 0 without me knowing or agreeing to it. I didn't even notice my drives were in raid 0 til a month ago because I barely knew anything about raid. Raid 0 is something I absolutely do not running on my computer especially when I have a hard drive that I've been using since 2014. Not sure which thread this should be in, but I figured "Storage Devices" was a good option.

I want to reinstall Windows 10 while removing the raid configuration at the same time. I have already backed up my data and stored it on an external drive so I'm not worried about data loss. I can reset and reinstall Windows, but I do not know how to go about removing the raid 0 configuration from my computer. I do not want to brick my hard drives while trying to reset and reformat them. I will provide my full system specs and as much information as possible but I know very little about the raid 0 on my PC and how it was setup. All I know about the raid configuration on my computer is that it is an AMD software related configuration. I also know there are some raid settings turned on in the BIOS but I haven't tried changing anything. I will provide more information if need be. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Specs:

AMD Ryzen 5 1600x

Asus Prime x470 Pro

Corsair 2933 C16 2x16GB RAM

AMD Rx 580 8GB

Windows 10 Pro version 1909 build 18363.836

1TB NVMe SSD (Boot drive)

1TB SATA SSD

1TB SATA HDD (2014 drive)

4TB SATA HDD

30 minutes ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

Do you have a backup of all your data? Do that first. Changing any of this has a good chance of data loss